Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25, Schedule, Preview

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25

The Countdown Begins: India to Face Australia in the 2024-25 Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Cricket Australia has set the stage for an epic clash between India and Australia, announcing the start of the 202425 Border-Gavaskar Trophy on November 22 in Perth. This five-match series is not just a test of skill but also endurance, as it spans across the continent, moving from Perth to Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, and Sydney.

Perth Stadium: A New Battleground

Perth’s latest Test venue, boasting a flawless record for the home team with four wins out of four, is ready to challenge the Indian team once again. Although India graced this ground during their 2018-19 tour, they will be eager to make a mark this time, having missed playing a Test here in their last tour in 2020-21.

Adelaide’s Twilight Test: A Chance for Redemption

The series’ second match, a day/night Test starting on December 6 in Adelaide, offers India a shot at redemption. Their previous pink-ball encounter at this ground ended in a swift defeat, with India collapsing to a mere 36 runs. However, this year, a generous nine-day preparation period sets the stage for a potential comeback.

Brisbane’s Gabba: Breaking the Fortress

The Gabba, known as Australia’s stronghold, will host the third Test. It’s a ground where the Indian team previously shattered Australia’s long-standing dominance. The excitement is palpable as fans wonder if history will repeat itself.

Melbourne and Sydney: Continuing the Tradition

The series will continue with the traditional Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), respectively. These iconic venues are set to witness the high-stakes drama unfold as both teams vie for the prestigious trophy.

The Prelude: Pakistan’s Tour Down Under

Before India’s highly anticipated visit, Pakistan will tour Australia for six white-ball games, a change from their last all-Test series in 2023-24. The teams will compete in three day/night one-day matches across the MCG, Adelaide Oval, and Perth Stadium, followed by a three-match T20I series ending on November 18.

The Schedule at a Glance

1st Test: November 22-26, Perth Stadium, Perth
2nd Test (D/N): December 6-10, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
3rd Test: December 14-18, The Gabba, Brisbane
4th Test: December 26-30, MCG, Melbourne
5th Test: January 3-7, SCG, Sydney

The anticipation is building, and the stage is set for what promises to be a thrilling Border-Gavaskar Trophy series. Stay tuned for more updates as we edge closer to the opening match in Perth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *