During an inning, the captain of the batting team has the authority to declare the inning closed at any point when the ball is not in play. When such a declaration is made, it signifies the completion of the innings.
15.2 Surrendering an Innings
Alternatively, a captain can opt to forfeit one of their team’s innings before it commences. This action also designates the innings as concluded.
15.3 Notification Requirement
In the case of either declaring or forfeiting an innings, the captain must communicate their decision to both the opposing captain and the umpires. Importantly, once this notification is given, the decision becomes final and cannot be altered. This process ensures transparency and consistency in cricket match management.