India vs Ireland T20 Series 2023: Guide & Schedule

Cricket Chronicles

Get ready for an exciting showdown as India and Ireland gear up to lock horns in the much-anticipated India vs Ireland T20 Series. This guide covers all the essential details you need to know about this upcoming cricketing extravaganza.

Captaincy for the series has a fresh face

In a thrilling twist, Team India is preparing to introduce a new captain for their forthcoming tour in the United Kingdom (UK). The formidable pace and skill of Jasprit Bumrah are all set to lead the second-string Indian side against the hosts, Ireland. This marks Bumrah’s triumphant return to international cricket after an 11-month hiatus due to a recurring back injury.

The upcoming three-match series against Ireland holds significance as it witnesses the return of the senior pacer, Jasprit Bumrah, to the international scene. Bumrah’s absence from the cricketing arena spanned nearly 11 months due to a persistent back injury. A fresh chapter begins as he steps back onto the field, rejuvenated and ready to contribute.

In this series, Indian opener Ruturaj Gaikwad assumes the role of Bumrah’s deputy, supporting the fully fit captain during the clashes against Ireland. The relentless spirit of Bumrah is a driving force for the team, as he has been absent from competitive cricket since the T20I series against Australia on home soil last September.

His absence significantly impacted major tournaments like the T20 World Cup and Asia Cup in the preceding year.

Joining the line-up of comeback stories, speedster Prasidh Krishna is also poised to make his return after an extended period of recovery from a lumbar stress fracture.

This injury had kept him out of action since India’s tour of Zimbabwe in August the previous year.

New Talents

The second-string Indian side showcases a lineup of promising talents, including Jitesh Sharma, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Dube. Notable players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Avesh Khan, and Sanju Samson have managed to secure their positions in the Indian T20I squad following the West Indies series. Guided by Bumrah’s leadership, the second-string Indian side aims to recover from their recent defeat against the West Indies, where they suffered a 3-2 loss in the Caribbean.

The eagerly awaited clash between India and Ireland is scheduled as follows:

– 18th August (Friday): India vs Ireland, 1st T20I at The Village, Dublin
– 20th August (Sunday): India vs Ireland, 2nd T20I at The Village, Dublin
– 23rd August (Monday): India vs Ireland, 3rd T20I at The Village, Dublin

The series poses a unique challenge for India, as they will be operating without the expertise of Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, and Kuldeep Yadav. In their absence, spinners Ravi Bishnoi, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Washington Sundar will take center stage against Ireland. The Indian squad, under Bumrah’s captaincy, has already embarked on their journey to Ireland, gearing up for the intense battles that lie ahead.

Intriguingly, the Indian team will miss the presence of head coach Rahul Dravid and National Cricket Academy (NCA) chief VVS Laxman during the Ireland series. Instead, coaches Sitanshu Kotak and Sairaj Bahutule will play pivotal roles in shaping India’s strategy for their final white-ball series before the highly anticipated Asia Cup 2023.

For those eager to catch the action live, India vs Ireland T20 Series will be available for streaming on JioCinema in India. Mark your calendars as the matches kick off at 7:30 IST, promising an exhilarating cricketing spectacle that fans won’t want to miss.

3 thoughts on “India vs Ireland T20 Series 2023: Guide & Schedule

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *